More easy additive-free weekend baking … in search of naturally Red Velvet !

As a Southern Belle, I have a healthy appreciation for all that is Red Velvet – cake, cupcakes, whatever. I’m also a huge fan of baking. I’ll post my creations very soon.

Lea Hogg's Blog

20140503-115820.jpg

I do not understand the popularity of red velvet.

For the first time i made it at a hotel and it will be the last.

I was not happy with the amount of red coloring it contains. Yes it looks pretty, luscious cream cheese frosting may make it irresisible and camouflage the after taste of the artificial additives. I always love a good home made cream cheese frosting … Yummm..

But the cake? I will not be making it again. I had a mental image of red trails traveling down my digestive system and simply could not manage more than a mouthful. And when I see it now on pretty cake stands and elegant trolleys I do not feel comfortable at the thought of someone eating it .

So together with Luke and Ayrton we adapted Ambassador Abercrombie Winstanley’s chocolate cake recipe . A great result but perhaps not as…

View original post 358 more words

One thought on “More easy additive-free weekend baking … in search of naturally Red Velvet !

Very Interesting.

